Out of the mouth of…Tobi

I’m hot!!  In a high temperature sort of way.  You’d have to ask Neal if that adjective describes me in any other way…

That has nothing to do with today’s post, but it’s how I’m feeling, so I’m just going to say it.  I’m hot most of the time (and I’m not alone) but for goodness sake it’s 93.2 in our office right now.  And I am counting!  Sweat is rolling down my back and this leather chair doesn’t help that situation.  I just put a pan of enchilada’s into the oven in my 150 degree kitchen.  It really heats up with the oven on.  If I don’t stop now I’m going to have to get some cheese with my whine…

The other night I was putting Tobi to bed and I can’t remember what actually led to the discussion, but we began talking about hearing God’s voice.  He asked me what God sounded like.  I told him I wasn’t sure…how’s that for a spiritual answer.  Anyway, I said that though God could speak out loud, he normally spoke to us in our hearts.  So maybe He sounds like us.  I thought that was pretty good logic.

“Nope”, he replied.  “I think God sounds like Dad.”

“Maybe you’re right”, was all I could think of to say.  Genius!

“How do we know God is speaking to us?”

I preceded to explain to him that for me, it just kind of comes like a thought that’s not my own.  Then I remembered a great example.  I told him that even though we hadn’t talked about it at all that  I had a ‘thought’ when we were in church about Tanika’s wrist being healed during praise and worship.  I reminded him that my thought came right there when I was standing next to him while he was drumming.

“And you didn’t tell me?” he asked, in a very disappointed tone.

“Ummm, no I didn’t.  Sorry.  I just thought it would be cool if that happened, and then I continued singing.”

“You should have told me.”

Point taken.  Next time I’ll remember that.

The next question was, “What will God say to us?”  I asked if he had ever been in a situation at school where a friend wanted him to do something that he knew was wrong, and then had a funny feeling in his tummy, because he knew it was wrong.  Or, a time that he was tempted to lie, and didn’t feel good about doing it.

“Yes.”

“Well”, I said, “That was the Holy Spirit telling you those things weren’t right”.

“No”, he said, very matter-of-factly, “that was just me because I knew those things weren’t right.”

Imagine where the world would be if we were all that smart!!

2 thoughts on “Out of the mouth of…Tobi

  1. Tobi is a breath of fresh air in a world that can’t make a decision about right and wrong and takes no responsibility for their actions. Give him a hug for me. Keep the blogs coming. They truly bless me.
    Connie

    PS. Love the family photos. Oh my where does the time go? 2002 was so long ago when I see how grown up your kids are.

  2. Well next time you will know to tell him when God talks to you! :)That is too cute. Even though he didn’t come right out and say “Good job parenting me.” That is what Tobi said translates to.

Leave a Reply

