Then there was one.

And here he is.

It is well known that I am majorly backlogged in my posts.  But if I’m going to get better at this, I have to start somewhere.  And the fact that we are down to only 1 child in our domicile seems to me the most obvious thing to ramble about.  Something I’m still getting used to- the 1 child thing.  Of course I’ve only had 3 weeks to get used to it and in that time we hosted a ministry team that helped us do 2 weeks of children’s camps for 480 kiddos in 2 cities a days drive apart.  Now things are settling down and I’m not sure what to think.  Except that I’m SOOOOOOOOOO glad God decided we needed a 3rd child.  After Tanika was born, I was more than done having babies.  Probably something to do with the fact that I had 2 of them in the space of 10 months.  Then we got to Niger and 7 years after Tanika was born, Tobi joined us.  Like I said, so thankful, as I am in no way ready for an empty nest.  And Tobi just started 5th grade and though I know as much as the next guy how fast time zips by, we still have a few more years before he flies away.  Sometimes I do wish I could stop time.

As for the other 2 birds, here they are.

  Pretty cute, eh?

The big one, Trae, just started his junior year at Oral Roberts University.  So he’s obviously been away for 2 years – but I still miss him.  A lot.  Maybe even more now than the first 2 years.  The smaller bird, Tanika just graduated from High School (this picture was taken in Niger at the grad party her grandparents had for her) and has successfuly started her freshman year at ORU.  Problem is, every time I walk to my bedroom, I look straight into her pink/burgundy but very EMPTY bedroom.  Which reminds me that she’s not here.  Which reminds me how much I miss her.  So though I love having Tobi around for this new season of ours, I can’t deny how much I miss having all 5 of us here together.

In an effort to train myself not to write novellas every time I write, I’m going to stop here – even though there is much more to say.  No worries, because I have promised myself to write more frequently so I have plenty of words to fill these spaces.  Another day.

Patty:  How’s that for short and sweet?!

10 thoughts on “Then there was one.

  1. The gospel is the power of God unto salvation to anyone that believes.The miracles are awesome,your passion is amazing! Rev. Neal & Danatte childs, ride on for Jesus, He has given you the land of Niger for His kingdom! Your site is very good.

Leave a Reply

