Missionary Journey to Nigeria Part 3 — The ‘Where’

Ok.  So I haven’t blogged as much as I expected to.  BUT I have gotten lots of other things done.  Namely completing the children and youth ministry curriculum I had been writing.  Done.  Checked off the list.  That’s big.

Our time here in Benin City has been quite amazing.  We’re really having a lot of fun.  And lest anyone think we are ‘suffering for the Gospel’ on this here mission trip, let me set you straight.  First of all, we are receiving royal treatment by our hosts Archbishop Margaret Idahosa and Bishop Feb & Rev. Laurie Idahosa.  And they’re not even here!  They have an incredible staff here running things.  We are blessed!

This is the building we’re staying in.

IMG_0605

Here Neal and Tobi are discussing on our front porch…not sure what about.

IMG_0663

This is our first room – which is lovely.  But our hosts decided it wasn’t big enough for us so they relocated us to an even nicer room.  I don’t have pictures of the new place yet, but I will take some.

IMG_0575

Tobi has his own quarters next to us… He’s busy ‘doing’ school at the moment.

IMG_0579

This is the lobby of our ‘house’.  Our first room is the one on the left.  Tobi next to us.  We are now occupying the 3rd door .  There are 3 more rooms next to us.
IMG_0581

We are eating 3 meals every day.  And the only thing that I do with regard to those meals is nothing.  That’s right.  Nothing.  Not only do I not have to plan them, I have nothing to do with their preparation.  All I do is walk about 100 yards when the proverbial bell is rung.  We have been eating some wonderful African food.  Love it all.  There is nothing that we’ve eaten that we haven’t loved.  Seriously.  And clean up?  We get up from the table and say thank you.  We don’t even clear our own plates!  Tobi is generally a pretty grateful kid, but I’ve taken it upon myself to remind him of what a blessing this all is – and how easy it would be to begin taking it for granted.  He agreed on all counts.  It won’t be until we arrive home that we’ll see if he’s been spoiled.  When we finish a meal will he just walk away from the table?   For that matter – will I remember to prepare the meal?  Jury’s out on that….

Neal and Tobi enjoying ebba.

IMG_0541

Fingers are the preferred utensils for this meal…

IMG_0544

Now lets go for a walk around this beautiful compound, shall we?

IMG_0584

The main house.

IMG_0594

It really is beautiful.

IMG_0595

From a distance.

IMG_0591

Neal hangin’ with Jesus.

IMG_0590

Just thought this was a cute picture of Tobi.

IMG_0650

Nativity

IMG_0587

Tobi with Moses maybe?

IMG_0644

Now that’s a palm tree!

IMG_0604

Really big tree.  Gotta LOVE the tropics.

IMG_0612

Still on the compound.  It has it’s own mini-jungle.

IMG_0631

Did you know that’s how pineapple grows?

IMG_0601

Small…

IMG_0623

Medium…

IMG_0624

Large… Watch out Dole!

IMG_0625

Banana!

IMG_0620

IMG_0622

Mango – not ready yet.

IMG_0626

Lemon – I think…

IMG_0630

Small papaya tree.

IMG_0617

Big papaya tree.  I think Neal is shaking it down. Or maybe holding it up.

IMG_0600

Not sure.

IMG_0615

Another not sure.  But it’s pretty amazing.

IMG_0661

As you can see, this is a very beautiful and very large compound.  An added bonus is that I have been able to run here.  Let me ramble a bit about that.  I’m not exactly sure what qualifies one as a runner.  But I pretty sure I’m not one.  However I have developed a kind of love / hate relationship with running.   I should also be clear though that I don’t really ‘run’.  I jog.  Slowly.  In Niger running is a very hot, dry and dirty undertaking.  And finding a place to comfortably run in clothes that are acceptable and comfortable at the same time…lets just say it’s a challenge.  So imagine my surprise when our first morning here I saw one of the staff walking around the driveway.  In runner’s attire.  I brought my workout DVD, assuming there wouldn’t really be a suitable place for running.  I asked around and found that yes, running here would be totally appropriate.  So that evening – off I went.  If I haven’t been clear – I don’t love running.  However – this run was heavenly!  I was still panting and sweaty. The humidity is unbelievable.   But I wasn’t full of red dirt.  The ‘track’ is the paved driveway around the main house.  I’ve been told it’s 1/4 mile in length.  Based on what I know my pace to be, I’m hoping that it is a bit longer than that.  But nevermind.  It’s a lovely pace to run.  As of today I’ve worked up to 10 laps. Then I walk 5.   Tobi runs with me every morning before he starts his school and is up to 6 laps.  Neal has of course asked Tobi why he is letting his mother outrun him…  But really,  what more can I ask for?  A paved and shaded running track, ‘O Happy Day’ pumping into my ears, mini-squirrels running around,  beautiful landscaping and the smell of beautiful flowers at every turn.  No wonder I couldn’t stop at 9 laps today!

Here’s our ‘track’.  This is a staged picture, but you get the idea.

IMG_0637

The sun was setting as we finished our walk around the compound.  You can see it in the distance.

IMG_0654

Here it is up close and personal.

IMG_0658

Next up will be WHAT we are doing.

But if you haven’t figured it out yet, we’re having FUN!

IMG_0666

2 thoughts on “Missionary Journey to Nigeria Part 3 — The ‘Where’

  1. Absolutely gorgeous….and well deserved for y’all, I might add. Enjoy every moment! Thanks for sharing and HAPPY VALENTINES DAY TO Y’ALL!
    Love you,
    Joe and Lenoir

Leave a Reply

